Lord, I wonder, why me?

While I’m honoured that this should be,
Wouldn’t it be better to get someone stronger,
One who can stay the course for longer?
I’m no Daniel in the lion’s den;
Like Peter I deny – again and again.
I’m more like Thomas, gloom and doubt,
Not like Paul with Biblical clout.
I’m not dedicated, like some monk;
My head and soul are crammed with other junk.

So, I say, why me?

I see others, higher up, who speak in tongues
While I occupy the lowest rungs
On the ladder of spirituality:
So, my Lord, why me?

What did You see in me, I ask,
When You gave me this specific task?
Yes, I’ll willingly undertake it,
But without Your help I just won’t make it.
I’m full of resentment, anger and stuff,
And You know how I buckle when things get rough.

I’d like to be a lot bolder,
A real Christ-soldier,
Receive Your Spirit
And be totally soaked in it.
Something always holds me back,
But You, You know what I lack.

Give me, please, Your Spirit-power
Minute by minute and hour by hour.
In times of crisis let me stand on Your Word;
Let me be, not shaken, but stirred!

 

[If you have a Christian poem that you would like me to publish, please submit or contact me via the comments.]

