[This is a parody of Alphaville’s well-known (but somewhat riddle-like) Big in Japan. Because of my personality I have to remind myself that God is my ultimate security, not my bank, alarm system, not my burglar bars or ADT. A week or so ago I “confessed” to my God-sister that with all the driveway robberies in the area, I was becoming nervous of going out! As I remember, a day or so after that this parody “fell into place”, although I’d been wanting to write it for a while with very limited success.]

Hopeless sinner’s heart
While temptations fly around inside my head, I chase the wind
I had no illusions
That I’d ever satisfy the righteousness that You demand
You did what You did for me
Plain as history I see
You’ve restored my life and soul again;
That’s why You became a man.
I will hold onto your hand  always
It’s better to be safe in your hands.

“Yes, you’re safe in my hands, all right
Safe in my hands; hold tight
Safe in my hands and I’ll hold tight on to you
Safe in my hands, all right, pray and I’ll keep by your side
Things are better when you’re safe in my hands,
When you’re safe in my hands.”

Cover for my naked sin
Pardon for the wretched twisted man I know that I have been
I shall cling tight  onto You
I shall never swap  my faith in You for vain & novel things
You did what you did for me
Plain as history; now I see!
That’s why You became a man
I will hold onto Your hand  always
It’s better to be safe in Your hands

“Yes, you’re safe in my hands, all right
Safe in my hands; hold tight
Safe in my hands and I’ll hold tight on to you
Safe in my hands, all right ,pray and I’ll keep by your side
Things are better when you’re safe in my hands,
When you’re safe in my hands.”

Hold tight
Safe in His hands; all right
Safe in His hands; yes, He’ll hold tight on to you
Safe in His hands, all right, pray and He’ll keep by your side
Things are better when you’re safe in His hands,
Are you safe in His hands?

Are you safe in His hands?  Hold tight
Safe in His hands; all right
Safe in His hands; yes, He’ll hold tight on to you
Safe in His hands, all right, stay and He’ll keep by your side
Things are better when you’re safe in His hands,
I am safe in His hands!

Quoted verses from ESV; references NIV

Psalm 46: God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear though the earth gives way, though the mountains be moved into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam, though the mountains tremble at its swelling.

To read this verse in its context: click the following link:
http://niv.scripturetext.com/psalms/46.htm

Psalm 23: The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul. … Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

To read this verse in its context: click the following link:
http://niv.scripturetext.com/psalms/23.htm

Psalm 34:4 I sought the Lord, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears.

To read this verse in its context: click the following link:
http://niv.scripturetext.com/psalms/34.htm

Isaiah 43: 1–3 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you. For I am the Lord your God,  the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.

To read this verse in its context: click the following link:
http://niv.scripturetext.com/isaiah/43.htm

Heb 5:9 And being made perfect, [Jesus] became the source of eternal salvation to all who obey him.

To read this verse in its context: click the following link: http://niv.scripturetext.com/hebrews/5.htm

John 3:16–17 For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him.

To read this verse in its context: click the following link:
http://niv.scripturetext.com/john/3.htm
Galatians 1:4 …. the Lord Jesus Christ,who gave himself for our sins to deliver us from the present evil age, according to the will of our God and Father.

To read this verse in its context: click the following link:
niv.scripturetext.com/galations/1.htm

Acts 4:12
And there is salvation in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.

To read this verse in its context: click the following link:
http://niv.scripturetext.com/acts/4.htm

Isaiah 1:18 Come now, let us reason together, says the Lord: though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall become like wool.

To read this verse in its context: click the following link:
http://niv.scripturetext.com/isaiah/1.htm

Rev 7:14
I said to him, “Sir, you know.” And he said to me, “These are the ones coming out of the great tribulation. They have washed their robes and made them white in the blood of the Lamb.

To read this verse in its context: click the following link:
http://niv.scripturetext.com/revelation/7.htm

If you are unfamiliar with the original song, you can click the following link:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GyGqk3Uac_Y

