Sparrow in My Hand is parody of T’Pau’s song China in your hand (the longer, 3-verse version)
January 2012

It was a plan I had
For the man I had
Birthed at the dawn of time:
Redeem life on earth
With a second birth
By the Spirit of God-in-Man
It was a mission to save
For eternal life
Before they’re snatched away.

And I would pay the price to reconcile
Oh, walk earth and shed My blood.
New life will return through this one sacrifice.
The prophecies will be fulfilled,
Free gift of the Servant King

Don’t fly too far
Your soul’s a sparrow in My hand
Don’t fly too far
Without My help you know
That you cannot stand
And you don’t know what you might
Yet bring upon yourself,
Sparrow in My hand

The I in sin
That is born within
Takes life to a barren land
“Oh I want”
Putting man in the role of God
Autonomy is a fantasy
It’s born of a wilful mind

Don’t fly too far
Your soul’s a sparrow in My hand
Don’t fly too far
Without My help you know
That you cannot stand
And you don’t know what you might
Yet bring upon yourself,
Sparrow in My hand

[On the morning of 24 Dec 2011 I sat in the garden watching the birds. One of these birds is tiny, perhaps only 50mm long; it flits from one branch to another, and then flies back to its original branch. While I was watching it, it flew to my knee , and I clearly felt the breath of its wings, and then it flew back to its original branch. Then it flew away. This seemed to reinforce the image in the poem.
The song China in your hand (URL, in case you are not familiar with the song:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XtT3naOuG1A ) refers to the story of Dr Frankenstein’s creation of a humanoid monster assembled from human bits and pieces. Frankenstein is repelled by his creation. There are too many contrasts and parallels with the Creation as told in Genesis to mention them here. However the Bible tells us that God saw that His creation was good. (For the NIV Genesis text click this link: http://niv.scripturetext.com/genesis/1.htm )]

Matt 10:29
Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of your Father.
For the full NIV text click: http://niv.scripturetext.com/matthew/10.htm

John 15:4-5
Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me.
I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.
For the full NIV text click: http://niv.scripturetext.com/john/15.htm

John 3:1-8
Jesus answered, “I tell you the solemn truth, unless a person is born of water and spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God.
For the full NIV text click: http://niv.scripturetext.com/john/3.htm

John 10:10
 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come so that they may have life, and may have it abundantly.
For the full NIV text click: http://niv.scripturetext.com/john/10.htm

Philippians 2:6-8
[Jesus Christ] though he existed in the form of God did not regard equality with God as something to be grasped, but emptied himself by taking on the form of a slave, by looking like other men, and by sharing in human nature. He humbled himself, by becoming obedient to the point of death – even death on a cross!
For the full NIV text click: http://niv.scripturetext.com/philippians/2.htm

Isaiah 53: 3–
He was despised and rejected by people, one who experienced pain and was acquainted with illness; people hid their faces from him; he was despised, and we considered him insignificant. …He was wounded because of our rebellious deeds, crushed because of our sins; he endured punishment that made us well; because of his wounds we have been healed. All of us had wandered off like sheep; each of us had strayed off on his own path. …He was led away after an unjust trial but who even cared? Indeed, he was cut off from the land of the living; because of the rebellion of his own people he was wounded. They intended to bury him with criminals, but he ended up in a rich man’s tomb, because he had committed no violent deeds, nor had he spoken deceitfully. …. My servant will acquit many,  for he carried their sins.
For the full NIV text click: http://niv.scripturetext.com/isaiah/53.htm

