The modern world doesn’t seem to like the concept of sin, but it doesn’t seem to mind so much the concept of forgiveness. If we had to carry with us all our sins and failures, we would never make any progress at all. We would be like a car stuck in mud or sand: engine revving, wheels spinning, getting deeper, going nowhere. So we need someone to tow us out.

The main, sole, purpose of Jesus’s incarnation was just that: forgiveness of our sins and our redemption. Only when we are released from the bondage of sin, can we be in the correct relationship with God our Father. Many people see repentance as a huge burden imposed by a judging God; but the purpose of repentance is forgiveness, a benefit of God’s mercy. One repents and says “sorry” to one’s wife because one acknowledges that the relationship is precious. Jesus’s death by crucifixion is the means of our forgiveness and restoration. We are unable to save ourselves.

The next time we see a car stuck in mud or sand, trying to “redeem” itself, let’s remind ourselves that God did something to get us out: Jesus.

(This is a parody of the song Needles and Pins by The Searchers, also by Smokie.  6-15 June 2009)

I saw it today, I saw my fate
It was a fate I feared, and I knew
I had to turn away
and get down on my knees and pray
He’d take them all away

And new life begins
Forgiveness of sins
Because of all my pride
The times I had to hide

Yeah, I thought I was smart, I’d do it my way
Now I know that I  – had it all so wrong
Then I thought that I was strong
I’d battle and I’d hurt,  until He came along
One day and spoke to me

And I was on my knees
And I begged Him please
Forgive me all my sins
And wash them all clean away
For ever, for ever

I couldn’t stop when I knew I was  wrong, I was wrong, so wrong
Now I can stand up and in His grace be strong

Oh yes, I saw Him today, I saw His grace
His face was full of love and I knew
I had to turn away
and get down on my knees and pray
He’d take my sins away

So new life begins
Forgiveness of sins
Because my Saviour died
I have no need to hide
Forgiveness of sins
Freedom from sins
Forgiveness of sins
Freedom from sins
Forgiveness of sins
Freedom from sins

Mat 26:28  “this is my blood, which seals God’s covenant, my blood poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.”
Lk 24:47  and in his name the message about repentance and the forgiveness of sins must be preached to all nations, beginning in Jerusalem.
Act 13:38  All of you, my fellow Israelites, are to know for sure that it is through Jesus that the message about forgiveness of sins is preached to you; you are to know that everyone who believes in him is set free from all the sins from which the Law of Moses could not set you free.
Heb 1:3  He reflects the brightness of God’s glory and is the exact likeness of God’s own being, sustaining the universe with his powerful word. After achieving forgiveness for the sins of all human beings, he sat down in heaven at the right side of God, the Supreme Power.
Psa 19:14  May my words and my thoughts be acceptable to you, O LORD, my refuge and my redeemer
Psa 49:7  We can never redeem ourselves; we cannot pay God the price for our lives,
Mat 20:28  like the Son of Man, who did not come to be served, but to serve and to give his life to redeem many people.”
Mar 10:45  For even the Son of Man did not come to be served; he came to serve and to give his life to redeem many people.”
Gal 4:4-5  But when the right time finally came, God sent his own Son. He came as the son of a human mother and lived under the Jewish Law, to redeem those who were under the Law, so that we might become God’s children.
1Ti 2:5-6  For there is one God, and there is one who brings God and human beings together, the man Christ Jesus, who gave himself to redeem the whole human race. That was the proof at the right time that God wants everyone to be saved,

