Often we can look at something worldly, and with the insight from the Spirit it can teach us a Spritual truth. Here is another modern parable. Something good can come out of battling with a computer. The pain is often not wasted. (When things are rough, a friend of mine often says: “I pray that the pain won’t be wasted.”)

Let’s follow this conversation:

Nico: You know, Mr Christopher, I’m just about to kill this bloody computer: it keeps on hanging, freezing and losing my stuff when it does so. I’m so sick and tired of rebooting that I could kick it to hell and back!

Joshua: A bit of trouble, eh, Mr Demas?

Nico:    Man, I’ve tried everything; I’m sick of trying and struggling. These programs are hell!

Joshua: Don’t blame your programs, man; what you need is to start from scratch again, right fr—

Nico: But that’s all I ever do: start over and over and —

Joshua: No, no. Don’t start over, start from the beginning, anew, afresh, ab initio.

Nico: What! and lose all I’ve got?

Joshua: Well, it’s your choice: either you struggle on doing it your way, or you start over again right at the beginning.

Nico: You mean reformat the hard drive, reinstall Windows98 and put everything back?

Joshua: No way! That’s reincarnation; your computer needs rebirth.

Nico: So?

Joshua: We’ll start right back in the beginning, but with a different operating system. Everything that depends on the OS will work better if the OS is better. I mean, how can you build a decent system on such an OS? Like building a skyscraper on a styrofoam foundation.

Nico: So what’s the deal?

Joshua: Simple. We’ll install FreeBSD which is a kind of like Linux as your operating system. Even if your application freezes, FeeBSD won’t. So a problem in one area won’t bring your whole world down. It’s robust and dependable, and though your applications may let you down, FreeBSD will never let you down.

Nico: What about all these files I already have?

Joshua: No problem: we’ll get a wordprocessor that runs on FreeBSD and convert the files. So it will all be the same, but radically different.

Nico: You’re sure it’s reliable?

Joshua: Absolutely, and that’s gospel.

Nico: OK, but what’s this all going to cost? I paid a fortune as it is.

Joshua: Nothing in money; a little effort, that’s all.

Nico: Don’t bulldust me; you shouldn’t hit a man when his OS is down! I can’t afford more expense at the moment.

Joshua: Look FreeBSD is downloadable. It’s FreeBSD, a free gift, no price. The only effort you need is to choose, accept, and your computer will be born again.

Nico: Hmm, a new life for the box ? Can I believe that?

Joshua: Nothing to lose and everything to gain: I’d give it a go.

Nico: A so-called leap of faith?

Joshua: That’s the spirit!

Joh 3:1  There was a Jewish leader named Nicodemus, who belonged to the party of the Pharisees.
Joh 3:2  One night he went to Jesus and said to him, “Rabbi, we know that you are a teacher sent by God. No one could perform the miracles you are doing unless God were with him.”
Joh 3:3  Jesus answered, “I am telling you the truth: no one can see the Kingdom of God without being born again.”
Joh 3:4  “How can a grown man be born again?” Nicodemus asked. “He certainly cannot enter his mother’s womb and be born a second time!”
Joh 3:5  “I am telling you the truth,” replied Jesus, “that no one can enter the Kingdom of God without being born of water and the Spirit.
Joh 3:6  A person is born physically of human parents, but is born spiritually of the Spirit.
Joh 3:7  Do not be surprised because I tell you that you must all be born again.

