The Lonely Woman’s Song is my “interpretation” of John 8:3-11, where the Pharisees bring to Jesus the adulterouos woman, often assumed to have been a prostitute, perhaps conflated with the woman mentioned in Luke 7:37-50.

It’s coming on evening; the day is done
I just want to cry and my heart is dead
I need someone to take me away
Away from this life, this loathing
Away from myself

It’s the time I dread
They come to me for “love”
All I have in me is silent hate
My heart is dead
They pierce my body
But my heart is dead.
They pierce my body
And my soul is dead

I need someone to take me away
Away from this life; away from myself.
Evening comes; the daylight is done
O God – can’t you hear me?

Scorn and stones on the streets
Jibes and jeers from those I meet.
With their money they ease their guilt,
But my soul’s life is spilt.
They pierce my body
But my heart is dead.
They pierce my body
And my soul is dead

I need someone to take me away
Away from this life; away from myself
I want to stand in the sun
Forget what I’ve done
O God – can’t you hear me?

“Hey, Jesus, what do you say?
You know what Moses said.
To stone the adulteress dead.
So, Prophet, what do you say?”

“The man with no sin, not a single one,
Yes, he can cast the first stone.”

Gradually one by one they leave me alone.
Then he turns and says, “Lady,
I see the abuse and God sees your pain;
Ask for forgiveness and sin no more;
By the grace of God be whole again.”

I’ve found someone to take me away,
Away to new life; away from myself
I can now stand in the sun
Forgiven for what I’ve done
O God – you heard me.
O God – you heard me.

John 8:3-11

Luke 7: 38-50

http://iamatreasure.com/
This is an organisation that reaches out to women in the sex industry. The X-girls are ex-sexworkers who have been rescued, redeemed and restored.

