This is a quick parody that popped into my head while I was thinking of something else! It’s based on the Hollies’ song Jennifer Eccles. Perhaps you may think this is too light-hearted, seeing that it talks of the Crucifixion. Remember that it is ONLY because of the Crucifixion and Resurrection that we have ANY joy, ANY hope, ANY salvation. Our joy in Jesus was purchased by His agonizing death, a death He chose because He already loved us then.

For us in the valley the chorus is significant: God loved us before we loved Him. Perhaps even before we felt like loving ourselves? We are sinners and God, righteous and holy as only He is, still loved and loves us. That thought lifts me out of  the valley! It also invites us to love ourselves as part of God’s creation.
27/04/09

Arms stretched out on a wood cross
Forgiveness bleeds from His side
His life sacrificed for us
A fact I cannot deny

I love Jesus, my Saviour
Because He first loved me
I love Jesus, my Saviour
Because He died for me

He says He’ll carry my burdens
If I just walk by His side
And when it gets to dying
The angels will call me inside

One Sunday walking I was ambushed by His Grace
Started me thinking: could I join in this race?

I know Jesus, my Saviour
Is going to carry me through
His love is bound to continue
The Bible declares it’s all true.

I love Jesus, my Saviour
Because He first loved me
I love Jesus, my Saviour
Because He died for me


1Jn 4:19  We love because God first loved us.
1Ti 6:12    Run your best in the race of faith, and win eternal life for yourself; for it was to this life that God called you when you firmly professed your faith before many witnesses.
1Co 9:24     Surely you know that many runners take part in a race, but only one of them wins the prize. Run, then, in such a way as to win the prize.
2Ti 4:7 ; 1Cor 9:24; Hebr 12:1

