C109 VS 28 [ 29/08/05]
[Based on tune: I will love again by Celine Dion]

Easter 2009: May you revel in the blessings of Easter. Easter is the reason you and I can carry on, no matter how buried we are in the Valley of the Shadows. Because Jesus has risen and is alive, we have INFINITE HOPE! I say this as one who lives in that valley: “We who have fled to take hold of the hope offered to us may be greatly encouraged. We have this hope as an anchor for the souls, firm and secure.” (Hebrews 6:18f)

Jesus is alive! He IS alive; so he CAN save. Yes He can! Yes He can! I began to see that on 19 April 1998. God’s Grace in our lives starts when our own smartness grinds to a halt.

Ever since creation
I have always loved you;
I have sent my prophets to you
To show you what you must do;
But you never would accept me
And you don’t do what I say:
What else could I do
But to pay my life for you?

But *I will rise again
Though my body’s broken
I will rise again
On the third day *
*     *
I will rise again

You saw all my miracles;
I gave you bread and wine.
I drew your children to me,
Placed their hearts right next to mine.
But you never would accept me,
And you nailed me to a cross;
And you thought you’d beaten me:
But I’ve got news to set you free:

*I will rise again
Though my body’s broken
I will rise again
I am God’s own Son*
*     *
I will rise again

I gave up all my glory
To come and live with you.
Do you think I did it all
Just for Israel and the Jews?
I brought healing to the gentiles,
The whole world, including you;
And this is my challenge:
Will you die and rise with me?

*I will come again
I will reign in glory
I will come again
I am Christ the King*
*     *
I will come again

Now you walk beside me,
And suffer as I did.
You try keep my commandments,
But the world is mocking you,
And everywhere’s temptation;
So you don’t know if you’ll last.
Child, keep up the struggle
Here’s my good news for you:

*You will rise again
Through my body broken
You will rise again
You’ll be justified*
*     *
You will rise again

When I come in glory
At the ending of all time,
You will come before me;
The judgement will be mine.
I’ll declare before my Father
And the angels round the throne
That in me you’re guiltless:
You’re my child, and you’re my heir

*You will live again
‘Cause my Blood has bought you
You will live again
Come and live with me*
*     *
You will live again

Jer 31:3 “I have loved you with an everlasting love”
Ps 103:17
Lk 20:13 “Then the owner of the vineyard said, `What shall I do? I will send my son, whom I love; perhaps they will respect him.’

MT 23:37 “O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you were not willing”

Mt 14:16ff; 19:13; Jn 21:13ff;

Rom 6:5 If we have been united with him like this in his death, we will certainly also be united with him in his resurrection”

Is 42:6; 49:6; Lk 2:32; Ac 13:47.
Mt 16:27; 26:26; Jn 6:35;
JN 15:1 “I am the true vine”
JN 6:35 Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life.”

Rom 5:9 Since we have now been justified by his blood, how much more shall we be saved from God’s wrath through him!”

Rom 8:17 Now if we are children, then we are heirs–heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory.

