[Those of us who belong to Christ but live in the valley of the shadow know the ends to which  Despair goes to make us forget that we belong to Jesus. Jesus (Joshua/Yeshua) means “God saves” and Despair is desperate for us to negate and/or forget that. So we are driven by Despair to talk ourselves down, say negative things, even put negative marks and tattoos on ourselves to mark or “tag” ourselves as NOT belonging to Jesus – all to negate the Name of our Salvation.

We must use the things of this world to remind ourselves that at all times we live under the Grace of God. Instead of cursing the red traffic lights, maybe we should be saying: “Thank you, God, that red is the colour of your Blood; that you died for me; that I live under the Grace that was bought with your Blood.”

Remember the chanting at Obama’s rallies, and on his election? When Despair says Jesus cannot save us, we need to respond boldly and emphatically: “Yes, He can! Yes, He can!”]

C149 VS 43

Your fingers and your eyes say
“Helpless” and “hopeless”:
That’s Despair’s favourite lie.

But know this:
On My palms your name is written,
Written in My Blood,
And for you I chose to die.

Isa 49:15  So the LORD answers, “Can a woman forget her own baby and not love the child she bore? Even if a mother should forget her child, I will never forget you.
Isa 49:16  Jerusalem, I can never forget you! I have written your name on the palms of my hands.”

John 20:25  So the other disciples told him, “We have seen the Lord!” Thomas said to them, “Unless I see the scars of the nails in his hands and put my finger on those scars and my hand in his side, I will not believe.”

Isa 53:5  But because of our sins he was wounded, beaten because of the evil we did. We are healed by the punishment he suffered, made whole by the blows he received.

