[There seem to be two sides to life, in a way: the side where everything goes fine (as Matt Redman’s song Blessed be Your Name says: “In the land that is plentiful/Where Your streams of abundance flow”); and those times when we face uncertainty (as Mat Redman puts it:”When I’m found in the desert place/ Though I walk through the wilderness”) . This poem reflects that duality.

The first two stanzas were written while I was gazing out of my study window at the garden and the sky towards the end of summer; the last two stanzas were written some weeks later, a day or so before we had a staff meeting to decide which of the five of us middle-managers would be declared “in excess”. Each of us thought he or she would be “the one”. Three years down the line the five of us are still all here.

For me it is great comfort to know that, when my strength is finished, there is always God’s inexhaustible strength left, and He can carry me without breaking a sweat.

(Incidentally, if you don’t know the words of Blessed be your name, you can find them via Google. This is a song every one of us who live in the valley of the shadow should know.)]

[18 Mar 2006]

It’s such a glorious day
The sun has now risen
The clouds have gone away
I just want to be with you
To spend my whole day with you
You’re my Alpha and Omega
My beginning and my end.

All the birds are singing
The squirrels are chasing
I see your geese winging
And the sky’s so blue, the kiss
Of your sun on my cheek’s warm
You’re my Alpha and Omega
My beginning and my end.

I’m frightened, here, inside:
I really have no idea
Just what the future hides
It’s grey and cloudy here; doubt
And things uncertain loom, but
You’re my Alpha and Omega
My beginning and my end.

Sometimes seems it’s all too much:
Slog and pain and sorrow.
I need your calming, healing touch,
Your voice that speaks of love
Yesterday, today,  tomorrow
Be my Alpha and Omega
My Beginning, at my end.


Rev 22:13  I am the First and the Last, the start and the end.

Rev 1:8  I am the First and the Last, says the Lord God who is and was and is to come, the Ruler of all.

Rev 1:17  And when I saw him, I went down on my face at his feet as one dead. And he put his right hand on me, saying, Have no fear; I am the first and the last and the Living one.

Rev 21:6  And he said to me, It is done. I am the First and the Last, the start and the end. I will freely give of the fountain of the water of life to him who is in need.

