C112  SV30    Jan 2006

[In Eph 6:11  Paul writes that we must “put on all the armour that God gives [us], so that [we] will be able to stand up against the Devil’s evil tricks.” That, plus the logo of  e-sword (internet Bible program with text, search, commentary, notes, the works (http://www.e-sword.net)) probably sparked this poem. In the old days knights in armour went out to do battle for the love of their Lady. We go out and do battle because of our love for God, but, as John says (1Jn 4:19),   “We love because God first loved us.” ]

I want to love you with all of my heart,
Get things back as they were at the start.
I want you to hold me really tight
Throughout the length of this long dark night.
And when day comes, I’d be your knight
Yes, your knight in armour shining bright
.

I want to stand wholly, wholly for you
Do all the things that you want me to do.
I want to stand and fight in your name,
For your sake endure any shame,
And when day comes, I’d be your knight
Yes, your knight in armour shining bright.

I’d don my breastplate, my shield and my sword,
I’d don my helmet at your given word.
I”d ride out over hills, valleys and fields
Fight all the battles till your enemy yields
And when day comes, I’d be your knight
Yes, your knight in armour shining bright.

And if in the battle I should fall
Your love, I know, won’t falter at all.
In homage I’d kneel before your face,
Stand up and feel the warmth of your embrace.
And when dark comes, I’d be your knight
Still your knight, Your armour shining bright.

