C107 VS 27        [18 Nov 2004

[Don’t you sometimes struggle through something wondering, “Where is God in all this?” If your answer was, “No,” you’re not like me. When I look back, I am forced to admit that God was “looking out” for me. So where is God when He doesn’t seem to be there? I believe He’s there, but we’re just not looking up to see Him. I tend to focus on the mess, and so I mess up the focus. Perhaps it’s just another attempt by satan to get us to despair. God has promised that He will NOT abandon us, and I know it’s my blindness & arrogance that make me feel that He has, when I’m in a mess. But we mustn’t trivialise things: where is God in Gaza or Zimbabwe at the moment? If we’re not praying for peace in Israel and Gaza  and elsewhere, do we even have the right to ask the question?]

When the night of pain is closing in on me;
When it all seems just too much to bear;
When the guns of war drown the angel chorus;
When people die and no-one seems to care:
With your Word you light the way before me.
If I look up, my Lord, my Saviour,
You are there.

When guilt, fatigue or sadness haunt me;
When I can hardly live up to my beliefs;
While the Accuser’s taunts still assail me,
And the thinking of men brings no relief:
With your Word you light the way before me.
If I look up, my Lord, my Saviour,
You are there.

If I could wish: that life were just a sunrise;
If I never felt the chill of dark despair;
If I could join the angels round you singing:–
But here I am, on earth where you have put me,
And with your word you light the way before me.
If I look up, my Lord, my Saviour,
You are there.

When the last breath has faded away from me;
And I am done with all this life has to give;
When goals, success and failure are behind me; –
Well, then in death I can really start to live
With your Word you’ve lit the way before me.
If I look up, my Lord, my Saviour,
You are there

Then I’ll see the glory in the Lamb’s eyes;
Then I’ll hear the angels sing around your throne;
Then I’ll be in heaven where you have put me
And the glorious victory will be all your own
For with your Word you’ve lit the way before me.
When I’ve looked up, my Lord, my Saviour,
You’ve been there.

Ps 119:105 Your word is a lamp to my feet
and a light for my path.
Ps 18:28 You, O LORD, keep my lamp burning; /my God turns my darkness into light.
Is 42:16 I will turn the darkness into light before them
and make the rough places smooth.

Rev 12:10 “Now have come the salvation and the power and the kingdom of our God, and the authority of his Christ. For the accuser of our brothers, who accuses them before our God day and night, has been hurled down.

Rev 5:11; 7:11
Rom 6:5 If we have been united with him like this in his death, we will certainly also be united with him in his resurrection.

Rev 5:11; 7:11

1 Cor 15: 57 But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

