C110 VS29
[Parody/Tune: Back Street Boys: Incomplete]
[26 October 2005

[The original song on which these words are based appears to have a mournful/ haunting/desperate tone, and this is what attracted me to it. Then the whole idea of being spiritually incomplete because we are sinners and unjustified begged to be explored. Then there is also the valley-dweller’s natural state to consider: is there hope? Is there hope for being accepted by God seeing that in ourselves were are not acceptable? If we keep messing up, does the zero hope get a negative score? Getting stuck on thoughts like that is a temptation to despair. The only solution is to follow the example of Biblical characters and cry out to God, who has in fact already made provision for us and for our justification. So acceptance of the benefits of Jesus’s crucifixion, death and resurrection releases, as it were, God’s justification of us.  God has justified us; God has reconciled us; God has forgiven us. So there is a hope for “a new man from the old.”

Your Spirit’s voice fills me up with hope:
By myself I just could not seem to cope.
Outside of your Presence I’ve failed every test.
I must admit it: that my life was in a mess

I cry from the depths to you, my Father:
Come down, breathe life into this dry soul!
I pray for the grace to be uplifted,
For without your love and mercy I can’t be —
Justified.

Human wisdom lacks the grace to care:
I was drowning in an ocean of despair.
The waters raging, washing over me,
Brought a whiteness – and a new man from the old!

I cry from the depths to you, my Father:
Come down, breathe life into this dry soul!
I pray for the grace to be uplifted,
For without your love and mercy I can’t be –
Justified.

I don’t mean to disappoint you
I don’t want to let you down
Without you I can’t make it on my own
I pray, don’t let me go!

I cried from the depths to you, my Father.
Came down, breathed life into this dry soul!
I pray for the grace to be uplifted,
For by your death and rising I can be —
Justified.

Hope: Rom 5:5; 15:13
Cry .. depths: Ps 130; Lam:3:55ff
Dry (soul): Ezek 37:2; Ps 63:1
Uplifted: Job 10:15; Ps 3:7; 30:1; 40:2; 143:8

Justified: Rom 3:23-4;
“for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.”
Justified: Rom 5:1-9.

