C99 VS23     9 December 2003

[This is one of a couple of songs/poems I have written that were not sparked by a pop song. It illustrates the battle we in the Valley have to combat our perceptions. We need to look away from the mess (very difficult!) and look to God as the only certainty we have. So in this poem I proclaim to myself what I should do (but very often don’t do.]

In the dark when it’s cold and I cannot hold
Onto what I like to do
When I can’t see what I want to be
When I can’t tell Heaven from hell
Then I turn from the cloud to the mountain
From the mist of doubt, to the Fountain
of Your Love, and then ……

I’m free, yes I’m free, I’m free in Your might
I’m free to fight the good fight
If I stand on Your Word, I’m free as a bird
No prison can hold me, if Your Love enfolds  me
Yes! I’ll stand, I’ll fly, I’m free!

In the dark when the day is slow in breaking
And my heart’s really aching
When the tread of my foot is dead
And stumbles on the rocks of my pain,
If I can turn from the darkness to the Son,
From the mist of doubt, to the Fountain
of Your Love, and then …..

I’m free, yes I’m free, I’m free in Your might
I’m free to fight the good fight
If I stand on Your Word, I’m free as a bird
No prison can hold me, if Your Love enfolds  me
Yes! I’ll stand, I’ll fly, I’m free!

Ps 18:28 You, O LORD, keep my lamp burning; /my God turns my darkness into light.
Is 42:16 I will turn the darkness into light before them
and make the rough places smooth.

Ps 36:9; 43:3; 48:1; 68:16. Is 2:2. Pr 14:27
Is 40:31 “…soar on wings like eagles;”
Ps 142:7 “Set me free from my prison,/ that I may praise your name.

Lk 4:18 “He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners”
Gal 3: 23 “Before this faith came, we were held prisoners by the law”

