C96 VS22                          [6 Jan 2004
[Parody: Dido (Armstrong): Don’t leave Home

Even Stalin recognised the importance of hope. In the midst of World War II he permitted religion (the so-called “opium of the masses”) in the USSR so that people would see something beyond their present suffering. It is hope that enables us to face tomorrow, accept today and forgive ourselves for yesterday. Depriving the Valley-dwellers of hope is one of satan’s favourite tricks; and we easily fall prey to that. Easter establishes hope as a fact. So we need hope as the anchor of our lives (Hebr6:19). It’s not our feelings which count, but what Jesus has done. It has taken me years to realise this — and I sometimes still get it wrong!]
Though the cloud is dark ahead,
Don’t believe that Hope is dead.
While the night may close you in,
When the Sun comes you will sing.

Deliverance is close at hand,
For you have fought well and can stand
And since you’ve put my armour on,
Despite your weakness, you are strong

So, child, don’t lose Hope;  Child, don’t lose Hope
When you’re lost, I will guide you;
If you bleed, I will bind you;
My Rising is your guarantee:
So, my child, don’t lose Hope

In any battles you may face
Trust completely in my Grace
And though your life may seem uphill,
I am still with you, love you still

So, child,  don’t lose Hope; Child, don’t lose Hope
When you’re lost, I shall guide you;
If you bleed, I will bind you;
My Rising is your guarantee:
So, my child, don’t lose Hope

Because you sought my heart divine,
The blood that covers you is mine;
Yes, I’ve laid down my life for you
And all my promises hold true.

So, child, don’t lose Hope; Child, don’t lose Hope
When you’re lost I will guide you;
If you bleed, I’ll bind you;
My Rising is your guarantee:
So, my child, don’t lose Hope

Oh how radiant you will be
When you reign in heaven with me.
The battle’s done; and you’re in my care;
So there’s just no need now  to despair.

Because
When you’re lost I shall guide you;
If you bleed, I will bind you;
My Rising is your guarantee:
Oh my child, don’t lose Hope

My Rising is your guarantee:
My Rising is your guarantee:
Oh my child, don’t lose Hope


Rom 5:5 “. . .hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts …”
2 Cor 1:10 “. . our hope that he will continue to deliver us”
2 Tim 4:7; Eph 6:11ff; Rom 12:13
Hos 6:1 “…he will bind up your wounds”
Rom 1:4; Rom 6:5 “. .  we will certainly be united with him in his resurrection”. Php 3:10
1Pet 3: 21; !Pet 1:3 “…living hope through his resurrection”

Heb 6:19a  We have this hope as an anchor for our lives.

