C94 VS20       30 November 2003
(Bette Midler: The wind beneath my wings)
[The original song is one of my favourites, for its simplicity and apparent sincerity. It is also an acknowledgement of a quality not much sung about in pop music. Many of us in the Valley know the coldness and the despair and the apparent senselessness of the world, etc. All people need to breathe in the Spirit; for those in the Valley, it’s crucial as it is  one thing that can lift us up above ourselves. Small wonder that Josh Groban’s You lift me up is so popular.]

It was really cold before you met me
And I had sunk deep into despair
Without Your Spirit  here to guide me
I just wasn’t going anywhere

But now I know that You are my Saviour
And that is why I call You Lord
And now I know where it is I’m going
For You are the Breath that gives me Life

I could never lift my heart to praise You
No hope in this world or the next
No lamp to light the path beside me
No hand to lift me when I fell

But now I know that You are my Saviour
And that is why I call You Lord
And now I know where it is I’m going
For You are the Breath that gives me Life

Although the days are full of trouble
You are the lamp that lights my path
And You’re the One who walks beside
Now You’re the One that lifts me up

For now I know You are my Saviour
And that is why I call You Lord
And now I know where it is I’m going
For You are the Breath that gives me Life

But now my heart can rise in praise to You
You died and rose and set me free
I can do all things in Your strength
And I know that I can trust in You

For now I know You are my Saviour
And that is why I call You Lord
And now I know where it is I’m going
For Yours is the Breath that gives me Life

Breath: Gen 2:7; Job 12:10; 27:3; 33:4; Ezek 37:5ff; Jer 38:16; Isa  42:5; Acts 17:28; Rev 11:11
Hope: Ps 119:105; 25:5; 42:5; 43:5; 62:5; 146:5
Eph 2:12; Job 11:8; Rom 5:5; Rom 15:13
Hebr 6:18;
Philip 4:13

